Since 2009, the European Society of Criminology awards annually up to five fellowships to attend the Annual Conference of the Society.

ESC Fellowships to attend the Annual Conference of the European Society of Criminology

The European Society of Criminology (ESC) invites researchers in criminology who are involved in criminological research to apply for a fellowship to attend the annual conference of the ESC. Applicants must be based in one of the following countries: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Georgia, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, Romania, Russia, Serbia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, and Ukraine. Priority will be given to postgraduate or early stage researchers from these countries. Up to five fellowships will be awarded each year.

The term 'criminological' relates to criminology as defined in Section 1 of the ESC Constitution ('The term criminology, as used in this Constitution, refers to all scholarly, scientific and professional knowledge concerning the explanation, prevention, control and treatment of crime and delinquency, offenders and victims, including the measurement and detection of crime, legislation and the practice of criminal law, and law enforcement, judicial, and correctional systems').

The fellowship includes the waiving of the registration fees for the conference plus an additional 500 Euros to cover travel and accommodation expenses.

A panel of three members designated by the Executive Board of the ESC (including, whenever possible, one member of the EPER -European Postgraduate and Early Stage Researchers Group- ESC Working Group) will review the applications and recommend suitable candidates to the Executive Board. The current panel consists of Helmut Kury (Max Planck Institute for Foreign and International Criminal Law, Freiburg, Germany), Eva Inzelt (ELTE Faculty of Law, Budapest, Hungary), and Sabine Carl (Max Planck Institute for Foreign and International Criminal Law, Freiburg, Germany, and chair of the EPER Working Group). The jury will transmit its recommendation to the Executive Board by 30 April in a report that describes the process followed to reach a decision. The Executive Board may approve or disapprove the recommendations of the Panel. It may also decide not to give the fellowships in any given year.

Applicants must forward their applications to the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. of the ESC and to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by midnight 31 March of each year. The application must include:

  1. A letter explaining why financial support is needed.
  2. A short letter of support from a professor or research supervisor.
  3. A detailed proposal (of approximately 1,000 words) of a paper to be presented in the next ESC conference by the candidate as sole author of the presentation.
  4. A curriculum vitae.

Successful candidates will be notified by e-mail by 15 June of each year.

List of ESC Fellowships Recipients

2017 Fellowships

  • Arbora Aliaj (Albania)
  • Alma Bela (Albania)
  • Nikola Vujicic (Serbia)

2016 Fellowships

  • Temur Gugushvili (Georgia)
  • Natasha Jovanova (FYRO Macedonia)
  • Besfort Lamallari (Albania)

2015 Fellowships

  • Ivona Shushak (FYRO Macedonia)
  • Angelina Stanojska (FYRO Macedonia)
  • Srdan Vujovic (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

2014 Fellowships

  • Reana Bezic (Croatia)
  • Karlo Ressler (Croatia)

2013 Fellowships

  • Ljiljana Stevkovic (Serbia)

2012 Fellowships

  • Ines Sucic (Croatia)

2011 Fellowships

  • Stojanka Mirceva (FIRO Macedonia)
  • Milena Tripkovic Pavlovic (Serbia)
  • Ivana Vrselja (Croatia)

2009 Fellowships

  • Anna Maria Getos (Croatia)
  • Aleksandra Jordanoska (FIRO Macedonia)
  • Liljana Stevkovic (Serbia)